2015 Nuclear-Free Future Awards – 28 October, 2015 in Washington, D.C.

Paul Walker, Green Cross International’s Director of Environmental Security and Sustainability, will present a special recognition to Austrian Ambassador Alexander Kmentt at the Nuclear-Free Future Awards on Wednesday. Green Cross International is co-hosting the event at Rayburn House on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C. along with Beyond Nuclear and the Nuclear-Free Future Award Foundation.

Ambassador Kmentt is being recognized for his work on the humanitarian impacts of nuclear weapons. He has become one of the most effective advocates for a nuclear-free world, among other honours elected Arms Control Person of the Year by the US Arms Control Association in December 2014.

Other awardees include: Shawn Iserhoff and the Cree Youth of Mistissini, Canada, for their fight to stop uranium mining on their territory; Americans Megan Rice, Michael Walli and Greg Boertje-Obed for their protest at the United States’ storage facility for weapons-grade uranium; Cornelia Hesse-Honegger, a Swiss artist and scientific illustrator who has been carefully recording evidence of deformations in insects exposed to radiation for decades; and Tony deBrum, Foreign Secretary of the Marshall Islands and longtime campaigner for clean-up and damages over nuclear weapons testing in the South Pacific.

Click here to view the full programme.