Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty

The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) bans nuclear explosions by everyone, everywhere: on the Earth’s surface, in the atmosphere, underwater and underground. The CTBT was negotiated in Geneva between 1994 and 1996. 182 countries have signed the Treaty, of which 157 have also ratified it (as of February 2012).