About |Criteria Categories | Awards 2015 | Laureates | Testimony | Nominations 2017 | Media Publications | Useful links | Contact 


A select group of outstanding individuals and organisations from around the world were honoured on 1 June 2015 as recipients of the third Green Star Awards.

Watch the full ceremony in Oslo

A gallery of photos from the event can be viewed here.

The Selection Jury rewarded the three following laureates:

In the category ‘Prevention & Preparedness’:

  • Ambatovy (Private company, Madagascar), for effectively preventing environmental emergencies and reducing disaster risk through removal of chemical hazards in Toamasina, Madagascar.

In the category ‘Response’:

  • CEDRE Centre of Documentation, Research and Experimentation on Accidental Water Pollution (Organisation, France), for its deployment of experts and technical advice to field response missions in the Philippines in 2013 and Bangladesh in 2014.

In the category ‘Environment and Humanitarian Action’:

  • Women Refugee Commission (Organisation, USA), for spearheading and implementing the Safe Access to Fuel and Energy (SAFE) Initiative and producing the first-ever guidance on safe access to energy in humanitarian settings.

5 certificates of honourable mentions were delivered to the following nominees:

  • BBC Media Action Bangladesh Team, (Private sector, Bangladesh) for its TV Programme aiming at increasing resilience of local people.
  • World Scout Foundation, (Organisation) for their contribution to relief efforts in areas affected by floods and storms, improvement of environmental conditions in disasters’ aftermath.
  • Olga Sarria and Nestor Sposito, (Individuals) for their involvement in the APELL Process in Colombia and Argentina. The APELL Process (Awareness and Preparedness for Emergencies at Local Level) is a methodology developed by the United Nations Environment Programme to enable governments, in co-operation with industry, to work with local leaders to identify the potential hazards in their communities and to prepare measures to respond and control emergencies.
  • Western Gray Whale Advisory Panel (WGWAP – ICUN), (Organisation) for their work on avoiding extinction of rare grey whale variety through minimization of oil prospection disturbance.
  • Hasan Mahmud, (Individual Bangladesh) for his involvement in programs aiming to reduce the impact of natural disasters in Bangladesh.
  • Kaohsiung City Government, (Government, Taiwan) for their response to a technological disaster

Download the 2015 Awards program (pdf)
Press release
Go to Home