Picture_Mohan Munasinghe.jpg

 Professor Mohan Munasinghe is Founder Chairman of the Munasinghe Institute of Development (MIND), Colombo ; and Vice Chair of the U.N. Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC-AR4), that shared the 2007 Nobel Prize for Peace. He is also Senior Advisor to the Government of Sri Lanka; Institute Professor at Vale Sustainable Development Inst., Federal Univ. of Para, Brazil; and Distinguished Guest Professor at Peking University, China. .

He has earned post-graduate degrees in engineering, physics and development economics from Cambridge University (UK), MIT (USA), and McGill and Concordia Universities (Canada). Prof. Munasinghe has also received several honorary doctorates (honoris causa).

He is Board Member of Green Cross International, Switzerland; Vice President of Canifex International Socio Economic Development Centre, Montreal, Canada; and President-Emeritus and Founder of Sri Lanka Energy Managers Assoc. (SLEMA).

Formerly, he served as Senior Energy Advisor to the President of Sri Lanka, Advisor to United States Presidents Council on Environmental Quality, and Senior Advisor/Manager, World Bank. He has also worked as Director-General of Sustainable Consumption Institute (SCI), University of Manchester, UK; and Chancellor of International Water Academy (TIWA), Oslo.

He is recognized as a leading expert on sustainable development, climate change, energy and environment. He is especially known for having developed at Rio 1992, the Sustainomics framework that applies trans-disciplinary thinking to make development more sustainable, and for proposing the novel idea of Millennium Consumption Goals. He has had direct field experience in climate change, disaster management, economics, environment, energy, ICT, transport, urban infrastructure, and water resources projects in many countries. He has won many international research prizes and medals, and authored 98 books and over 350 technical papers. He is Fellow of several international Academies of Science, and is editorial board member of over a dozen scholarly journals.