Princess Basma Bint Talal

Princess Basma Bint Talal.png

Princess Basma plays an active advocacy role through forums such as the United Nations, contributing to global strategies on health, education, population, the environment, and the advancement of women.

Victor Danilov-Danilyan


Professor Danilov-Danilyan has extensive knowledge and expertise in the environmental sciences, serving as Director of the Institute of Water Problems and being a corresponding member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, as well as Chair of the State Committee for Environmental Protection.

Wakako Hironaka


Wakako Hironaka is a Member of the House of Councillors (Upper House of the Japanese Diet) and a Standing Officer of the Democratic Party of Japan. Ms. Hironaka is also active internationally as Vice-Chair of Global Environmental Action (GEA), Co-Chair of Micro Credit Summit Council of Parliamentarians, as a Member of the World Commission on Forests and Sustainable Development, a member of the Earth Charter Commission, and as the International Senior Advisory Board of UNESCO.

Istvan Lang


Professor Istvan Lang is a Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences and former member of the World Commission on Environment and Development.

Javier Perez de Cuellar


Javier Pérez de Cuéllar de la Guerra is a Peruvian diplomat who served as the fifth Secretary-General of the United Nations from 1 January 1982 to 31 December 1991. Mr. Perez de Cuellar was President of the Council of Ministers, as well as Minister of Foreign Affairs from November 2000 until July 2001.

Robert Redford


Acclaimed actor, director and producer Robert Redford is an avid environmentalist and also a trustee of the Natural Resources Defense Council.

Diane Meyer Simon


Diane is Founder, President Emerita and Past Chair of Global Green USA, which she founded following a Moscow Board Meeting of Green Cross International (GCI) in August 1993 with President Mikhail Gorbachev, who personally enlisted her to organize a US affiliate and become a member of the GCI Honorary Board.

Rabbi Awraham Soetendorp


Rabbi Soetendorp was born in Amsterdam in 1943 and is President of Green Cross Netherlands. He is Rabbi of the Liberal Jewish Community in The Hague (The Netherlands), presides over the European Region of the World Union for Progressive Judaism, is now the co-Chair of the Global Forum of Spiritual and Parliamentary Leaders, is a founding member of Green Cross International, and an Earth Charter Commissioner.

David Suzuki


David Suzuki, Co-Founder of the David Suzuki Foundation, is an award-winning scientist, environmentalist and broadcaster. He is renowned for his radio and television programs that explain the complexities of the natural sciences in a compelling, easily understood way.

Ted Turner
Ted Turner.jpg

Robert Edward “Ted” Turner III, born 19 November, 1938, is an American media mogul and philanthropist.
As a businessman, he is best known as the founder of the cable television network CNN, the first dedicated 24-hour cable news channel. In addition to CNN, he founded WTBS, which pioneered the superstation concept in cable television.

Yevgeny Velikhov


He is the President of the Russian Research Center “Kurchatov Institute”, a title that he has held since 1992.
He has been awarded the USSR State Prize (1977), the Lenin Prize (1984) and the RF State Prize (2003) and named an Honorary Member of the Swedish Royal Academy of Engineering Sciences and the A.F.Ioffe PhTI.